Taj Mahal…and Delhi.

Standard

OK, since I have access to internet now, I thought I would quickly write another post recapping our recent visit to the Taj Mahal.  We have basically been in the car for 3 days straight…between Jaipur, Agra and Delhi (or the triangle as they know it here).  Our driver, Papu, is the most amazing driver. He has survived dodging a guy in crutches, a van full of lots of people and several cows and camels.  We are finally done with all our touring and I am exhausted.

The Taj Mahal as an adult is still as impressive as it was as a 12 year old kid.  Shah Jahan built it for his wife and it is where both their tombs are now.  Fast Fact – Noone knows the recipe for the glue that was used to build the Taj Mahal except the family.  I would like to know what was in that shiznit. It is BREATHTAKING.  And, for the 2nd time, it is still the most fascinating man-made monument I have ever seen.

After Agra, we headed onward to Delhi. We have done a full sightseeing tour today.  We got to see the oldest mosque in India.  Crazy beautiful.

Your fun facts for today include:

  • Me having a case of the Delhi Belly and you don’t want to know what that entails!
  • Most people seen on one rikshaw: 14 people (usually transportation for 3 people tops)
  • McDonalds outing includes one spicy paneer burger…which did wonders for my Delhi Belly.
  • A bicycle ride through the back alleys of Delhi where I witnessed Indian lunch joints, street foods, making of saris, gold jewelery shops and way too many people crammed onto one street.  This is by far the coolest thing I have done on this trip.

Tomorrow it’s back to Mumbai for 2 days, where I get to see the fam one last time before embarking on a solo adventure through Southern India and East Asia.  May the force be with me.

I will try to upload some pictures soon.  It’s been a challenge with the limited Internet access.

Hopefully, we make tomorrow’s flight without a problem.  On our way here, my brother managed to throw away his ticket and we got called twice to board the plane, as they were about to leave without us.  I should not be allowed to leave the country.

Wish me luck!

N

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

